Murder in Montana law constitutes the intentional killing, under circumstances defined by law, of people within or under the jurisdiction of the U.S. state of Montana.
The United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention reported that in the year 2020, the state had a murder rate slightly below the median for the entire country.
Penalties OffenseMandatory sentencingAiding or soliciting suicideUp to 10 years in prisonNegligent homicideUp to 20 years in prisonVehicular homicide while under influenceUp to 30 yearsMitigated deliberate homicide2 to 40 years in prisonDeliberate homicide Death (de jure) or
Life imprisonment without the possibility of parole or Life-with-parole after at least 30 years or
10 to 100 years in prison
Under Montana law, prosecutors can charge minors as young as 12 years old as adults for certain crimes, including deliberate homicide (whether mitigated or not), or attempted deliberate or mitigated homicide. Citing MCA 41-5-206.
Under Montana law, deliberate homicide is punishable by death when committed:Montana Code § 46-18-303. Aggravating circumstances. By an offender while in official detention; By an offender who had been previously convicted of another deliberate homicide; By means of torture; By lying in wait or ambush; As a part of a scheme or operation that, if completed, would result in the death of more than one person; During the course of committing sexual assault, sexual intercourse without consent, deviate sexual conduct, or incest, and the victim was less than 18 years of age. Against a peace officer killed while performing the officer's duty.
See also Capital punishment in Montana
Notes
References