Murder in New Hampshire law constitutes the intentional killing, under circumstances defined by law, of people within or under the jurisdiction of the U.S. state of New Hampshire.

The United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention reported that in the year 2020, the state had the lowest murder rate in the country, in a near tie with Vermont.

Felony murder rule In the state of New Hampshire, the common law formulation of the felony murder rule has been replaced by the Model Penal Code's formulation of the rule.

The felony murder rule is codified as a form of second-degree murder, at RSA 630:1-b, I(b).

Penalties Source: OffenseMandatory sentencingCausing or aiding suicideUp to 7 years in prisonNegligent homicide to 17 years in prisonManslaughterUp to 30 years in prisonSecond-degree murder30 to 40 years in prison, or life imprisonment with the possibility of paroleFirst-degree murderLife imprisonment without the possibility of parole

Notes

References